Nominees announced for rugby awards

James Ryan and Jack Carty were on hand to announce the nominees for the 2019 Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award. 

The Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards, one of the biggest nights in Irish sport, will take place on Wednesday, 15th May, at the Clayton Hotel in Ballsbridge.  

Nominated for the Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award are four Irish internationals who have all excelled for their country and respective provinces this season. James Ryan cemented his reputation as one of the best second-row players in the world with a series of outstanding performances for both Leinster Rugby and Ireland this season.

Also on shortlist are Munster Rugby teammates, Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne. O’Mahony was named man of the match in Ireland’s historic Test victory over the All Blacks in Dublin last November and Tadhg Beirne had a stellar season, one that saw him earn his first cap for Ireland.d

Jack Carty is also nominated having become Connacht Rugby’s record points scorer in addition to making his international debut against Italy last February.

Commenting on the announcement marking Zurich’s fourth year sponsoring the Zurich Rugby Players Ireland Awards Anthony Brennan, CEO, Zurich Ireland said Zurich has been a long-term supporter of Irish rugby at grass roots and national level. “We are delighted to see this wonderful sport that bridges all borders and backgrounds go from strength to strength each year. It’s been a fascinating year for Irish rugby with plenty of the highs and lows that make this such an entertaining sport. Having beaten the All Blacks on home turf, and with Leinster still vying for Champions Cup glory, we have many great moments to celebrate at this year’s awards. We’re especially excited about recognising and showcasing off-field achievements where our Life MD, David O’Dowd, will present the Zurich Contribution to Irish Society Award.”

Nominee for the 2019 Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award, Irish international rugby player James Ryan, added: “It’s an honour to be nominated by my fellow players for the 2019 Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award. Pete, Tadgh and Jack have all enjoyed excellent campaigns and it has been a pleasure to share time with them in Irish camp. We have had some fantastic moments this year including that unforgettable win over the All Blacks in Dublin, but we have also learned many lessons along the way. It’s important to recognise and celebrate achievement but we’re also looking forward to some important games in our season still to come.”

It has been a memorable year for Ryan who has also been nominated for the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year Award. As with last year, he joins Jordan Larmour and Jacob Stockdale on the shortlist. Alongside Keith Earls, Larmour and Stockdale also supply some outstanding efforts to contest the Volkswagen Try of the Year Award.

It has been a competitive year for the Irish Women’s XV and several standout performers will vie for the BNY Mellon Women’s XV Player of the Year Award. The nominees for this award are: Anna Caplice, Eimear Considine and Ciara Griffin.

The iZest Women’s 7s Player of the Year will also be awarded on the night, with previous winners Lucy Mulhall (2018) and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (2016 & 2017) included on the shortlist alongside Louise Galvin. A new award will also see the AIB Men’s 7s Player of the Year recognised.

In addition, the Vodafone Medal for Excellence will be awarded to the individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the game of rugby both on and off the field. Nominated by their peers, this year’s nominees are: Darren Cave, Rhys Ruddock and James Tracy.

Members of the public are also encouraged to get involved by nominating their Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Moment of the Year 2019 via Twitter @druidsglen, using #DruidsMoment19. Rugby fans across Ireland can also choose the Virgin Media Sport Supporters’ Player of the Year 2019 which has been running across Virgin Media Sport’s coverage of the Champions Cup.

Nominees for the Zurich Players' Player of the Year: 

Tadhg Beirne, Jack Carty, Peter O’Mahony, James Ryan          

BNY Mellon Women's XVs Player of the Year: 

Anna Caplice, Eimear Considine, CIara Griffin                      

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year:

Jordan Larmour, James Ryan, Jacob Stockdale

Volkswagen Try of the Year:

Keith Earls  (Ireland v France, Guinness Six Nations), Jordan Larmour (Ireland v Italy #3, The Rugby Weekend, Chicago), Jacob Stockdale (Ireland v New Zealand, Guinness November Series)

Virgin Media Supporters' Player of the Year:

Will Addison, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Carty, Cian Healy, James Lowe, James Ryan

Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Moment of the Year:

Voted by the public on Twitter using #DruidsMoment19, the Rugby Moment of the Year will be unveiled at the Awards ceremony on Wednesday 15th May 2019. 

Vodafone Medal for Excellence:

Darren Cave, Rhys Ruddock, James Tracy

iZest Women's 7s Player of the Year:

Louise Galvin, Lucy Mulhall, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe

AIB Men's 7s Player of the Year:

Jordan Conroy, Terry Kennedy, Adam Leavy

Sign Up Here

For promotional offers, news, updates and access to exclusive reports from Zurich

By pressing the submit button you are providing your consent to receive email communications from Zurich Life and other Zurich Group Companies
Indicates required field

...  Sending Answer, please wait ...

Your answer has been successfully submitted. Thank you for your participation.

An error has occurred attempting to submit your answer. Please try again.